Lake District National Park

The Lake District is the largest of the United Kingdom's National Parks, and contains 16 lakes (and many smaller tarns), more than 150 high peaks, with four over 3000 feet (the only mountains in England), (including England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike - 3206 ft).

There are six National Nature Reserves, 100 sites of Special Scientific Interest, over 50 delectable dales, and some four hundred towns, villages and hamlets within its 885 square miles of breathtaking countryside.

It is now part of the county of Cumbria, but originally contained parts of the counties of Cumberland, Westmorland, and North Lancashire.

The following regions of Cumbria are either wholly or partly within the Lake District National Park :

North Central Cumbria - Cockermouth, Keswick, Borrowdale, Buttermere, Lorton

South Central Cumbria - includes Ambleside, Windermere, Grasmere, Hawkshead, Coniston

West Cumbria - includes Whitehaven, Workington, Maryport, Wigton, Sellafield, Millom, Eskdale, Wasdale,

East Cumbria - includes Penrith, Eden Valley, North Pennines, Alston, Appleby, Kirkby Stephen

South Cumbria - includes Kendal, Cartmel, Barrow-in-Furness, Kirkby Lonsdale, Yorkshire Dales, Sedbergh

For more information on The Lake District National Park Click Here


A2A Affordable Web Design - SMS Marketing - Affordable SEO & English Lakes
Designed By A2A Internet